.

Featured Posts

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #24 | Famous Last Words

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.




This week, I'm waiting on...


Famous Last Words by Katie Alender
Hardcover, ARC edition, 320 pages
Expected publication: September 30th 2014 by Point
Genre: YA - Mystery, Thriller



Hollywood history, mystery, murder, mayhem, and delicious romance collide in this unputdownable thriller from master storyteller Katie Alender.

Willa is freaking out. It seems like she's seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It's almost as if someone -- or something -- is trying to send her a message.

Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles -- a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa's strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There's Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there's Reed, who's ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There's also Wyatt, who's super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer.

All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible-ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind . . . or her life.

Acclaimed author Katie Alender puts an unforgettable twist on this spine-chilling tale of murder, mystery, mayhem -- and the movies.


I'm a HUGE fan of Author Katie Alender. Her Bad Girl's Don't Die series is and forever will be one of my favorite books series as well as some of the scariest books I've ever read. Katie truly is the queen of thrillers! I am SUPER EXCITED about her new book! I can't wait to read come late September.


So what book(s) are YOU waiting on this Wednesday?
Leave us a comment. I'd love to know. :)

 
 

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Blog Tour: Amity by Micol Ostow | Guest Post + Giveaway: win a SIGNED print copy of AMITY!

 photo amity_website_zps139e432d.jpg
Welcome everyone to the OFFICIAL Blog Tour for AMITY by Micol Ostow!
Today I bring you a fun guest post from the author about what she thinks makes a good scary story. There will also be a giveaway below to win a signed print copy of the book. :) 

Enjoy!




Amity by Micol Ostow
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: August 26th 2014 by EgmontUSA
Genre: YA - Horror, Thriller

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.
Pre-Order/Purchase: 



I've asked Micol "What key components make up a GREAT horror novel?" Here's what she said:

Hmm... as much as I’m a huge horror fan, I can’t say that I feel confident assessing what makes up a great horror novel. But I can say what tends to work for me as a reader (or viewer):

1) Tone: A good horror novel sets a tone of dread from page one. Don’t believe me? Do yourself a favor and revisit the opening paragraph of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House. “Whatever walked in Hill House, walked alone.”

2) Pacing: Extreme, high-impact chills need to be interwoven with thoughtful intervals where a reader can recover and catch his or her breath. But not too many intervals! It’s a delicate balance.

3) Believable motivation: Oh, sure – sometimes evil is just evil. That works. But it doesn’t hurt to create a character and a set of circumstances that a reader will buy. It’s the difference between shock value and emotional resonance. Stephen King’s The Shining is a great example; Jack Torrance’s tortured persona was ripe for possession by the evil hotel. No matter the horrific deeds he commits, we sympathize with him. (No? Just me?)

4) Big scares: Motivation, pacing, tension and a low build are all well and good, but you still need the major jolts. Let’s call that the “boo!” factor. In Amity, a lot of those moments tend to happen in mirrors.

And finally:

5) Just a hint of gross-out. Look, I’m not big into torture porn. True gore doesn’t do it for me at all. But a little glimmer of blood? The power of suggestion cannot be underestimated. Anyone remember the shower scene in Psycho? Go back and watch it again – you’ll never see Norman Bates’ knife pierce the skin. But you will think that you do. Now that’s horror.



About The Author: Micol Ostow

Find Micol @

Micol Ostow has written dozens of books for children, tweens, and teens, but Amity is her first foray into horror. I turns out, writing a ghost story is almost more terrifying than reading one. (In a good way.) Her novel family was called a “Favorite Book of 2011” by Liz Burns at School Library Journal, and her illustrated novel, So Punk Rock (and Other Ways to Disappoint Your Mother), was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens. In her spare time, Ostow blogs with the National Book Award-winning literacy initiative readergirlz.com. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, with her husband, her (utterly fearless) daughter, and a finicky French bulldog named Bridget Jones. Visit her online at www.micolostow.com or follow her on Twitter @micolz.

 The wonderful people at EgmontUSA are giving me a SIGNED print copy of AMITY to give away on my blog! To be entered to win please use the rafflecopter form below.

Open to US and Canada ONLY.
Giveaway closes Sept 14th, 2014


Next on tour is: Jump Into Books


Thursday, August 21, 2014

Cover Reveal & ARC Giveaway: Silent Alarm by Jennifer Banash

Hello everyone!
I am so excited to say I've been asked by Penguin/G.P. Putnam's Sons to share with my readers today the cover reveal for Author Jennifer Banash's NEW and Upcoming novel, SILENT ALARM! I am a huge fan of the author, her book White Lines was a spectacular read. Along with the cover reveal the amazing people are Penguin have offered to give away a print ARC of Silent Alarm to one of my lucky readers. How cool it that? So without further ado... 





PRESENTING....
SILENT ALARM!


Life changes in a second. 
It was just another Tuesday afternoon for Alys Aronson, worried about her upcoming violin audition, wishing for her boyfriend’s arms wrapped around her. Instead, she was hunched over her history notes in the school library, where she couldn’t have known what was in store—that her brother was headed to that same library with a rifle in his hand. Though she’ll never know why, he spares her, but kills fifteen others that day, only ending the bloodshed by turning the gun on himself.

In an instant, her high school becomes one of those places you hear about on the news, and her brother, Luke, is branded a monster. In the aftermath of the shooting, Alys and her parents struggle to make sense of what’s happened and find a way to stay together. All along the way, trying to answer that unbearable question: Why?

Exquisitely written with a powerfully evocative voice, Jennifer Banash’s Silent Alarm is raw, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful.

What does everyone think of the new cover?


Please use the rafflecopter form below to enter. 



LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Blog Layout Credits

Design: Rachel Silberman
Coding: Klodian

Looking for Something?

Blogs I Follow

Favorite Books/Series

Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton The Chemical Garden by Lauren Destefano The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong Divergent by Veronica Roth Firelight by Sophie Jordon Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins House of Night by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick If I Stay by Gayle Forman Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter Medusa Girls by Tera Lynn Childs The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine Need by Carrie Jones Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost Nightshade by Andrea Cremer Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

Find me Here!

Parajunkee Design Top Book Sites Top Books Sites ChiKittie - Find me on Bloggers.com

150 Books In A Year (2013)

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Beckie has read 3 books toward her goal of 150 books.
hide

Blogger news

Bittersweet Enchantment

Follow Me on Instagram

Instagram

-

 photo c60bd266-25ae-4058-b4c3-1404374578af_zps481e1c87.png
FKgraphic1abv

PhotobucketPhotobucket