.

Featured Posts

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Book Review: The Duke and the Lady in Red by Lorraine Heath


TITLE: The Duke and the Lady in Red
AUTHOR: 
Lorraine Heath
SERIES: Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James #3

FORMAT: ARC > 
384 pages
PUBLISHER: 
Avon Books
RELEASED: 
April 28th 2015 
GENRE: Adult > Historical Romance

PURCHASE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble


Sparks fly in the finale of the Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James Place series, as the last wicked rogue meets his match. When Rosalind Sharpe gains the attention of the deliciously wicked Duke of Avendale, she’s torn between her distracting attraction to the notorious rogue and the knowledge that he—rich as Croesus—is the perfect target for a deception that will put her swindling days behind her. However, Avendale is no fool. After he discovers the tantalizing lady packing up to leave London with his coins in tow, he confronts her with a scandalous proposition: she can have all the money she requires…for a week in his bed. Desperate for the funds, Rose agrees, but on one condition: he must never question her motives. Avendale quickly sees beneath her mask and discovers she is more than passion and pleasure—she is everything he has ever desired. But claiming her requires he unveil her secrets and lose her forever. Unless he can put his own dark past aside and risk everything for a chance at love.


The Duke and the Lady of Red is a unique story in more levels than one. I mean, how unique can it be with a con artist for a heroine? Of course, we would know she did it but the revelation was heart breaking.

The Duke and the Lady of Red is the third and final book in the Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James series, and is tied to The Scoundrels of St. James Street (confusing, right?).  As a little background for the story (there is a little bit of tie in on both series), we meet Whit, the current Duke of Avendale, in The Last Wicked Scoundrel, when he was a little boy. His mother, Winnie, the current Duchess of Avendale married one of Feagan's lads and is the hero in The Last Wicked Scoundrel. You do not need to read the previous series or the previous book in this series to appreciate the story but it does help with understanding the whole backstory.

Now enough of that. Let's talk about the hero, Whit. The Duke of Avendale is a scoundrel and loathes permanence in his life, avoids love, and his family. He really is someone with a whole lot of baggage in his life and what I love about this book is that we see his transformation from scoundrel to a hero that we all want to root for.

Rosalind (Rose) Sharp is a con artist. She goes into the Twin Dragons in search for her next mark and is immediately attracted to the Duke of Avendale. Sparks fly between the two, and as Rose starts to fall for Whit, she makes mistakes and is caught by the Duke himself.

As the story unfolds, we discover the real reason behind Rose's con and what drove her to do what she did. We also discover the true reason behind Whit's aloofness from his family.

What I really liked about this story is that it is unique. Both main characters had a lot of baggage behind them. Rose and Whit were also opposites in the way they deal with their family and because of this, it was Rose's devotion to her own that really changed Whit and mended the rift that he had with his own family.

I can't remember how much I cried over a book. The revelations in this story was just heartbreaking and the resolution in the end was immensely satisfying.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romance books and a hero and heroine full of emotional baggage.

Totally Awesome! I loved it, would read again.



Monday, June 29, 2015

Welcome Zeee!


Guess what? Bittersweet Enchantment has a new reviewer joining us! 

Her name is Ezrah but she likes to be called Zeee. 

Zeee is a book blogger at I heart Romance and YA. Her reviews are amazing and I am looking forward to her reviewing books here at BE.




MEET ZEEE!

Zeee is a registered nurse and romance reader, grew up in the Philippines and is now living in Canoga Park, California.  She started reading when she was child, but her passion for reading started when she was in middle school and she picked up the Sweet Valley series.  She recently re-discovered her love for reading YA and alternates reading between YA and historical romance.  When she is not reading, she loves photography, digital scrapbooking, watching T.V. or annoying her cat, Twylah.  She is married, and has been for 7 years to a husband who indulges her reading obsession.

Zee reads and reviews the following genres: 

Young Adult: mostly Dystopia, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Classic/Fairy Tale Retellings               
Adult Romance: Historical Romance, sometimes Paranormal Romance, Erotic Romance and she has also started to read a few new adult romance. 


These are the type of books she'll be reviewing here. :) Her first review will be out tomorrow! YAY! So be on the lookout for that. Zee will also be doing discuss posts and joining in on memes occasionally. Please help me in welcoming Zeee to the family! 






P.S. - I am still looking for a co-blogger and another reviewer to join the team. If you want details click here


Sunday, June 28, 2015

The Blog Most Likely to... + GIVEAWAY!



Hello, everyone! 
Today I have a super exciting post to share with you all called "The Blog Most Likely to..."! I've been invited by the wonderful people at Penguin Random House to join their campaign for the release of Huntley Fitzpatrick's upcoming book,The Boy Most Likely To, which will be out in stores August 18, 2015. The author's other works include The Boy Next Door and What I Thought Was True

To celebrate the release of the book, I am going to be sharing with you what Bittersweet Enchantment is "Most Likely To Do..." and guess what?! There's a GIVEAWAY! You can enter to win an ARC of THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO and Signed paperback of MY LIFE NEXT DOOR! 



This is my local library where I live in Raleigh, NC. There are a lot of larger libraries in the surrounding area, but I frequent this one most often since it's 3 blocks from where I live. There is a wide variety of YA fiction in the library system which is really great because I able to check out a lot more books without having to spend money to buy them. And let me tell you I DO check out a LOT of books. 

I go to my library 2-3 times a week, sometimes more often. Whether it's to pick up new books or drop off ones I've already read, I spend a lot of time living in visiting. In fact, most of the librarians know me by name and frequently chat with me while I'm there. Over the past summer or two I have also volunteered in my library. It's a lof of fun and a great way to learn about new books. 

I know a lot of people who prefer to buy most of their books, in fact, my reviewer Hillary doesn't use her local library and that's fine but for me I use the heck out of it. Here are a few reasons why:

  • Free books to read! I mean come on people, FREE!! 
  • Wide selection of the genre's I love to read.
  •  InterLibrary Loan. Have you ever gone to your library and was upset they didn't carry a book you want to read? With the InterLibrary Loan, you can request books from other libraries throughout the US. :) I use this feature on books by Colleen Hoover since her books are not in the wake county libraries.
  • The environment. Sounds dumb, right? For me, I love being around a ton of books. I like the smell of old books, as silly as that sounds. It's nice to be able to find a quite table or bean bag and read while I'm there. 
  • Saves money! If I bought all of the books I read every year at the library I would be homeless, living on the streets. ;)
I totally will admit that I read more books from the library each year then ones I purchase. So much so that the books I do have on my shelves at home are collecting dust. *pet's books. "Don't worry, I still love you guys!* 

My dream is to one day live in a home that has a library of its own built in. 
Something like this:


How epic would that be?! I would spend all my time in this room, never wanting to leave. 


How about you all, do you visit your library often or do you prefer to buy your books? If you do check out books at the library, how often do you go and what section do you visit most? Let me know in the comments below. 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick 
Pages: 416 
Expected Publication: August 18th, 2015 
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Genres: YA - Contemporary Romance



A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 


Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns. 


The awesome people at Penguin Random House are giving away two fabulous prizes. An ARC copy of THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO and Signed paperback of MY LIFE NEXT DOOR! Enter to win below! :) Good luck and I hope you all enjoyed my post.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Blog Layout Credits

Design: Rachel Silberman
Coding: Klodian

Looking for Something?

Favorite Books/Series

Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton The Chemical Garden by Lauren Destefano The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong Divergent by Veronica Roth Firelight by Sophie Jordon Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins House of Night by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick If I Stay by Gayle Forman Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter Medusa Girls by Tera Lynn Childs The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine Need by Carrie Jones Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost Nightshade by Andrea Cremer Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

Blogs I Follow

Blogger news

Bittersweet Enchantment

Follow Me on Instagram

Instagram