Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Blog Tour - Book Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk + Giveaway: win a SIGNED copy!

Hello everyone! 
Welcome to the blog tour for Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk! I am so excited to be able to share my review for this amazing book! You guys are going to absolutely love ARROWS! Be sure to enter the giveaway below to win a signed copy of the book. 
Enjoy the review! 



Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk 
Publisher: Delacorte Press 
Release Date: January 26th 2016 
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Mythology, Retellings, Romance


A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow. 
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant. 
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Want to read an excerpt of Arrows? Click here!


Arrows combines three of my favorite types of genres in YA fiction, Mythology, retellings, and romance. This fun and unique take on the classic Cupid story set in present-day, was not only magical but EPIC in every way. A breath of fresh air, author Melissa Gorzelanczyk writes from the heart and gives her readers a story they  won't soon forget! 

Son of the legendary Cupid, Aaryn is in-training to be a "cupid" just like his Dad. Love is never easy to find and Aaryn is destined to help lonely souls on earth find their true love with just a prick of an arrow. Aaryn is about to graduate but need to find one last couple to bring together but notices too late that there is only one arrow left in his bag. In a hurry, he decides to only shoot a girl named Karma with his last arrow, leaving the Danny untouched. Thus hoping it will be enough to spout true love between the two.

Now a full-fledged Cupid, Aaryn tried to forget about that night and move on to helping others in need, but the past is about to catch up with him. Cupid, Aaryn Dad finally learns the truth and forces his son to return to earth as a human to right the wrong he made a year ago. He learns that Karma had gotten pregnant and now has a baby named Nell. Her dreams of being a professional ballet dancer are now on pause but would have been a real if not for being a teen Mom. While Karma is hopelessly in love with Danny, Danny is far from settling down with a family and marriage. It's Aaryn job to help Danny fall in love and marry Karma, to set his wrong right and return to being a God. 

As Aaryn tries to pick up the pieces of his mistake, he begins to have feelings for Karma. Feelings he knows he should never have for a human and ones that could get him into a lot of trouble. 

Will Aaryn be able to bring Danny and Karma together or will love find its own way, to someone else's heart? Find out by reading ARROWS! 

{ Warning: slight spoilers below }


Appropriately the word I use to describe my feeling for this book is:
LOVE

I loved this retelling of Cupid. 
I loved Aaryn. I loved Karma. I loved hated Danny.
I loved the setting. I loved Nell. (she is such a cutie)
I loved how broken Karma was and how I could feel her sadness through the authors words. I loved how much Aaryn cared so deeply for Karma, more than Danny ever would or could. 
I loved seeing the slow burn of romance bloom between Karma and Aaryn. And I loved more than anything, that in the end true LOVE conquers all, no arrows needed.


If I could give ARROWS more than 5 stars I would, in a heartbeat. 
 I give mad props to author Melissa Gorzelanczyk for writing such a heartbreakingly beautiful retelling of Cupid. immensely enjoyed reading this novel. I highly recommend it to everyone, especially those who adore mythology, retellings, and romance in YA fiction. You're going to LOVE to love this book!

Totally EPIC! One of the best books I have read. A MUST read!!



Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. Her young adult novel ARROWS is available now from Delacorte Press, a division of Penguin Random House. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family. 

 Win (1) signed hardcover of ARROWS by Melissa Gorzelanczyk + a bookmark 
(US Only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read my post, I really appreciate it. :) Feel free to leave a comment below, I love reading them and I always try to visit everyone back. *MUAH*

LinkWithin



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Looking for Something?

Blog Layout Credits

Design: Rachel Silberman
Coding: Klodian

Follow Me on Instagram

Instagram